OP ED



Female tech entrepreneurs are instigating a revolution

2012-03-08 00:01:00

HELSINKI, Finland In 2010, two Kenyan women, Jamila Abbas and Susan Oguya, were angered by newspaper reports about middlemen exploiting smal


Road trip to fantasy land: Why does Obama keep pumping money into electric cars?

2012-03-08 00:01:00

President Barack Obama boasted at a United Auto Workers conference last week that General Motors was back in business, producing cutting-edg


Maureen Dowd / The warmongers get busy

2012-03-08 00:00:00

Sure, let's return to the Bush doctrine of bomb first, think later


The case for Rush Limbaugh

2012-03-07 16:58:00

Our political umbrage episodes are orgies of insincerity


Kids can't wait for clean air

2012-03-07 06:59:00

Close to 38 percent of Northgate School District students suffered from asthma in 2008-09.


Protect patient safety

2012-03-06 12:19:00

Legislators should be wary of changing a system that works


My shameful search history on Google

2012-03-06 12:12:00

Hey, I'm guessing yours isn't a whole lot better, Snooki fan


Ross Douthat / We need to celebrate thinkers in a world of bomb throwers

2012-03-06 00:00:00

The story of the scholar and the stunt man


Maureen Dowd / Have you no shame, Rush?

2012-03-05 00:01:00

As a woman who has been viciously slashed by Rush Limbaugh, I can tell you, it's no fun.


E.J. Dionne Jr. / Obama wins Ohio

2012-03-05 00:00:00

What happens in Ohio politics never stays in Ohio, and there are two storylines here on the eve of Super Tuesday.


George F. Will / Constructive defeat

2012-03-05 00:00:00

"The beginning of wisdom is the fear of the Lord. The next and most urgent counsel is to take stock of reality." -- William F. Buckley


The Next Page: The [French] horn rocks!

The Next Page: The [French] horn rocks!

2012-03-04 16:44:00

Heidi Opdyke offers a guided tour of the twists and turns of a musical world that is thriving in Pittsburgh.


The affirmative action case is a Godsend for Republicans

2012-03-04 00:01:00

By unearthing the issue, the Supreme Court will force Obama to stake out a position unpopular with swing voters


Cutting Edge: New ideas / Sharp opinions

2012-03-04 00:01:00

Charles Kenny at ForeignPolicy.com: "After 30 years of greed being good and rising tides lifting all boats, inequality -- or 'class warfare,


We used to see death as a part of life; now we see it as a medical failure

We used to see death as a part of life; now we see it as a medical failure

2012-03-04 00:00:00

Why is it so hard to let someone die? asks Dr. CRAIG BOWRON


Enough Said / Federal tax laws keep piling up

2012-03-04 00:00:00

Facts that speak for themselves


Abusing women: Let us count the ways

2012-03-04 00:00:00

They're high-tech, low-tech and worldwide, discovers columnist PAMELA DVORAK


Both parties prattle on about fundamental choices and never get around to practical solutions

2012-03-04 00:00:00

And they are betraying the American people, complains columnist CLIVE CROOK


After affirmative action

2012-03-04 00:00:00

Colleges will still diversify, writes professor STEPHEN JOEL TRACHTENBERG


Saturday Poem / 15 Years After 'The Cage'

2012-03-03 16:28:00

I dreamed I was working at The Cage again, / but the draft was kicked and the regulars / all parodies of themselves ...


Charles Krauthammer / Lucky for Romney that Santorum blew it big-time in Michigan

2012-03-03 00:00:00

WASHINGTON -- It's been a wild ride, but the storyline of the Republican race remains remarkably simple and constant: It's Mitt Romney and t


Paul Krugman / The GOP candidates would out-debt Obama

2012-03-03 00:00:00

They are four fiscal phonies


Saturday Diary / Playing ball at the Y like Jeremy Lin

Saturday Diary / Playing ball at the Y like Jeremy Lin

2012-03-03 00:00:00

I'm thinking Dragon Lin. Maybe that is too ethnic. How about Lion Lin? It's alliterative. Fast, agile, jumps well.


First Person / An Iceland story

2012-03-03 00:00:00

It's cold but cozy, and Icelanders address problems head-on


Immigrant bashing works

2012-03-02 00:00:00

So it's no wonder you see more of it during election years


Maureen Dowd / The GOP's greek tragedy

2012-03-02 00:00:00

Mitt gets weirder, Rick gets creepier, Republicans get worried-er


Oil prices rise, Act IV: It's always the same, as the actors tap into a barrel of nonsense

2012-03-02 00:00:00

There is nothing, and I mean nothing, like rising crude-oil prices to make sensible people go all wobbly in the head.


In Rebuttal / Global warming is real

2012-03-01 08:59:00

But some people are more than willing to distort the facts.


Komen is still for the cure

2012-03-01 00:00:00

Our organization made a mistake, but we go on fighting to rid this community of breast cancer


Rats as role models: If rodents can display empathy, so can members of Congress

2012-02-29 00:01:00

Who knew that rats cared? They do. I read about it in the Post-Gazette -- "Research Shows Empathy in Rats."


David Brooks / Possum Republicans

2012-02-29 00:00:00

They're the ones who hide as their party hunts for heretics


Revenge of the 'super PACs'

Revenge of the 'super PACs'

2012-02-28 14:07:00

Republicans rejoiced when they started; now ... not so much


In Rebuttal: The case for cosmetic surgery

2012-02-27 12:40:00

Disturbing reports about the French manufacturer that sold faulty silicone breast implants in Europe and South America containing industrial


George F. Will / The ghosts of Watergate

2012-02-27 11:40:00

In 1960, when Thomas Mallon was in the fourth grade, he wore his Nixon-Lodge button to school and warned classmates that John Kennedy was to


Maureen Dowd / The last-gasp party

2012-02-27 00:00:00

It's finally sinking in.


No exit for Pakistan: Afghanistan will still be stewing next door long after the Americans leave

No exit for Pakistan: Afghanistan will still be stewing next door long after the Americans leave

2012-02-26 16:38:00

Forum editor GREG VICTOR explains the situation from Pakistan's point of view


Eleven days in Pakistan: the rest of the story

Eleven days in Pakistan: the rest of the story

2012-02-26 16:36:00

The stakes are high for Pakistani journalists. They can cover almost everything but in many cases only if they face down threats.


E.J. Dionne Jr. / The president is not an alien

2012-02-26 12:51:00

They say President Barack Obama is a Muslim, but if he isn't, he's a secularist who is waging war on religion. On some days he's a Nazi, but


We need a funny president

We need a funny president

2012-02-26 12:50:00

As I was driving to work the other day, I heard a news reporter pose a question about the GOP presidential candidates I would have never tho


America is more integrated than you might think

2012-02-26 09:58:00

Social scientist EDWARD GLAESER tells an unsung success story


Cutting Edge: New ideas / Sharp opinions

2012-02-26 00:01:00

The Atlantic Wire mentioned an Amy Davidson blog item for The New Yorker on Barack Obama and religion:


Enough Said / Billion Dollar Baby

2012-02-26 00:00:00

Facts that speak for themselves


First Person / Fifty years later, John Glenn's ride is still thrilling

2012-02-25 11:22:00

Wow! It is difficult for me to comprehend the fact that 50 years ago I was sitting there at Cape Canaveral ... waiting ...


Jeffrey Goldberg / With enemies like these, Israel deserves more friends

2012-02-25 00:00:00

The governor of New Jersey, Chris Christie, said something that caught my attention the other night at an event sponsored by the American Is


Saturday Poem: 'Balance Sheet'

2012-02-25 00:00:00

The student loan, two part-time jobs, the degree, / the sales plus commission. The paychecks, / the payments, the end-of-month economies ...


Paul Krugman / All pain, no gain

2012-02-25 00:00:00

Last week the European Commission confirmed what everyone suspected: the economies it surveys are shrinking, not growing.


Saturday Diary / Welcome to the winter of my content

2012-02-25 00:00:00

It struck me like a punch in the gut.


Gail Collins / Four dudes and a table: Now Republicans must decide which one is grooviest

2012-02-24 00:01:00

The 20th Republican debate! I have now spent more time watching the GOP presidential candidates on television than two seasons of "Downton A


Choosing the right tax cuts

2012-02-24 00:00:00

Freeing capital is what helps economies grow long-term


The adults in the debate: Leave the disreputable tactics to the climate-change deniers

2012-02-24 00:00:00

Peter Gleick violated a principal rule of the global-warming debate: Climate scientists must be better than their opponents.


George F. Will / The GOP's miscast candidates

2012-02-23 13:45:00

Neither Romney nor Santorum looks like a winner in November


Crisis in our courts: The Senate and president are failing to fill the federal bench

2012-02-23 13:45:00

Judicial vacancies permeate court after court across the nation.


The pooch on the roof: Romney is still dogged by Seamus the Irish setter

2012-02-23 13:44:00

Mitt Romney's enduring problem is that we don't know what lies beneath the eager-to-please demeanor that leads him to emit impenetrable line


Santorum's surge

Santorum's surge

2012-02-22 10:28:00

Four things to watch for this week in the GOP race: 1. There's a debate tonight in Arizona. Rick Santorum's debate record is mixed.


The case for protectionism

2012-02-22 00:00:00

A stiff tariff would spur the economy and reduce the deficit


David Brooks /The talent society: We're less constrained, which is not good for all of us

2012-02-22 00:00:00

We're living in the middle of an amazing era of individualism.


Single women side with Obama

Single women side with Obama

2012-02-21 12:36:00

He's regaining this key demographic as the gender gap widens


Gail Collins / Dick Lugar and Rick Santorum confront the politics of residency

2012-02-21 00:00:00

Of all the issues you can raise in a political campaign, the dumbest is whether a member of Congress has moved his/her family to Washington.


Reward civility: Cursing the coarseness of political debate is not enough

Reward civility: Cursing the coarseness of political debate is not enough

2012-02-21 00:00:00

We all lament the rise of incivility in our democracy. Allegheny College is launching a quest to reverse it.


Maureen Dowd / Where the boys aren't

2012-02-20 00:01:00

How do you marry God after you've kissed the King? Easy. Just ask Dolores Hart.


Philadelphia's story

2012-02-20 00:00:00

I live in Philadelphia. I have for nearly 40 of my 57 years. It is a wonderful city but also a corrupt one.


Presidents can't do it alone

2012-02-20 00:00:00

While Presidents Day observances today go largely unnoticed and are perhaps better known by most Americans for their splashy retail it is th


Five myths about white people, such as ... working-class whites are more religious than upper-class whites

Five myths about white people, such as ... working-class whites are more religious than upper-class whites

2012-02-19 00:01:00

The troubles whites are having afflict mostly the working class, reports CHARLES MURRAY of the American Enterprise Institute


Bishop Zubik on 'don't ask, don't tell' for churches

Bishop Zubik on 'don't ask, don't tell' for churches

2012-02-19 00:01:00

The Obama administration's 'accommodation' on birth control is nothing more than Razzle Dazzle, says Bishop DAVID ZUBIK


Mass transit is not a luxury

2012-02-19 00:01:00

There's enough money for the Port Authority; we just spend it elsewhere, complains writer ROBERT ISENBERG


Cutting Edge: New ideas / Sharp opinions

2012-02-19 00:01:00

When it comes to giving away their own money, Mona Charen writes: "Self-described conservatives, as Arthur C. Brooks demonstrated so cogentl


Why are there so many rich middlemen in medicine?

2012-02-19 00:01:00

Columnist KEVIN HORRIGAN examines class warfare at the pharmacy


Stand up for religious freedom

2012-02-19 00:00:00

The Obama birth control rule violates the separation of church and state


Enough Said: The achievement gap / Class vs. race

2012-02-19 00:00:00

Facts that speak for themselves


The Next Page: The invisible industrial hands of the pattern maker

The Next Page: The invisible industrial hands of the pattern maker

2012-02-19 00:00:00

In the old Polaroid photos, my father stands next to a large circular mold on the floor of the pattern shop of U.S. Steel in Johnstown.


Paul Krugman / Moochers against welfare

2012-02-18 00:01:00

Many people don't know they're taking government money


First Person / Received truths

2012-02-18 00:00:00

We just parroted our parents, but we were young then


Charles Krauthammer / Obamacare vs. the Constitution: The GOP is failing to make the case

2012-02-18 00:00:00

Give him points for cleverness. President Barack Obama's birth control "accommodation" was as politically successful as it was morally meani


Saturday Poem / After Telling My Dad I Have Lymphoma

2012-02-18 00:00:00

there are miles of silence, / not quiet, but silence / as in, absence of sound ...


Saturday Diary / I've made my mark on the turnpike; now where's my marker?

2012-02-18 00:00:00

In 1729, the famous English satirist Jonathan Swift wrote a controversial essay called "A Modest Proposal." My modest proposal is nowhere ne


Restart Pennsylvania's HEMAP mortgage program

2012-02-17 13:52:00

Pennsylvania has an exceptional opportunity to re-take the national lead in foreclosure mitigation efforts.


Nicholas D. Kristof / New Haven tries something new to fix our schools

2012-02-17 00:01:00

New Haven has arguably become ground zero for school reform in America because it is transforming the system with the full cooperation of th


Iran looks ready to talk

2012-02-17 00:00:00

Crippling sanctions might yet force the regime to forgo nuclear weapons


The Morrill of the story: Public universities in Pennsylvania must be supported

2012-02-16 00:00:00

The Morrill Act was designed to provide the "sons of toil" with a college education in the practical fields of agriculture, engineering, mil


Maureen Dowd / Bishops fall back on that old black magic

2012-02-16 00:00:00

Exorcism is making a big comeback in the Catholic church


Margaret Carlson / The bishops should have declared victory

2012-02-16 00:00:00

Instead, they've joined the religious right's culture war on all things Obama


George F. Will / Rent control is unconstitutional

2012-02-16 00:00:00

The Supreme Court should remedy this egregious violation of private property rights


Rick Santorum knows what women want. Who else would know better?

2012-02-15 00:01:00

It's nice that he thinks the women in our armed forces are "amazing and wonderful" and "a great addition." They are, whether he thinks so or


Rick Santorum is Romney's toughest challenge yet

Rick Santorum is Romney's toughest challenge yet

2012-02-15 00:00:00

He has big advantages over the other non-Romneys who have risen and fallen


BNY Mellon got the occupiers evicted, but they'll be back

BNY Mellon got the occupiers evicted, but they'll be back

2012-02-14 00:01:00

And you have to ask, whose park is it anyway?


Ross Douthat / We need a practical agenda to help blue-collar America

2012-02-14 00:00:00

Charles Murray's "Coming Apart" is a brilliant portrait of the steady breakdown of what he calls America's "founding virtues" within America


Conservatives deride Massachusetts, but it's got a pretty good record

2012-02-14 00:00:00

The political expletive in this season's Republican presidential race is "Massachusetts moderate," aimed at Mitt Romney. But by almost every


Thomas L. Friedman: Today's GOP is an incoherent mixture of inflexible positions

2012-02-13 15:13:00

Watching the Republican Party struggling to agree on a presidential candidate, one wonders whether the GOP shouldn't just sit this election


George F. Will / Bribery or just politics?

2012-02-13 00:00:00

All elected officials, and those who help finance elections in the expectation that certain promises will be kept -- and everyone who cares


E.J. Dionne Jr. / Contraception culture war

2012-02-13 00:00:00

Politicized culture wars are debilitating because they almost always require partisans to denigrate the moral legitimacy of their opponents,


For the common good

2012-02-13 00:00:00

Is the commonwealth government's sense of responsibility to uphold the constitutional mandate to work for the common good of all Pennsylvani


Democracy is under siege in Egypt

2012-02-12 00:01:00

And so is U.S. clout in the Middle East, argues foreign affairs analyst TRUDY RUBIN


Reaganomics won't work today, but GOP candidates keep pushing it anyway

Reaganomics won't work today, but GOP candidates keep pushing it anyway

2012-02-12 00:01:00

Former Reagan adviser BRUCE BARTLETT explains the difference between the 1980s and the 2010s


When women rule

2012-02-12 00:01:00

They must act like men now, but not for long, writes professor JOSEPH S. NYE JR.


Feeding Facebook

Feeding Facebook

2012-02-12 00:01:00

Columnist JOANNA WEISS marvels at how we supply the content while Facebook rakes in billions


Enough Said / The toil index

2012-02-12 00:00:00

Facts that speak for themselves


PG Products