OPINION



Female tech entrepreneurs are instigating a revolution

2012-03-08 00:01:00

HELSINKI, Finland In 2010, two Kenyan women, Jamila Abbas and Susan Oguya, were angered by newspaper reports about middlemen exploiting smal


Road trip to fantasy land: Why does Obama keep pumping money into electric cars?

2012-03-08 00:01:00

President Barack Obama boasted at a United Auto Workers conference last week that General Motors was back in business, producing cutting-edg


Letters to the editor

2012-03-08 00:01:00

While many have eloquently pointed out the important role transit plays in the economic and social well-being of our region ...


Mailman walked the Hill like Teenie

2012-03-08 00:01:00

There's nothing like walking with Joe Horne when you're among the nearly 1,000 photos in the Teenie Harris exhibit, because nobody knew the


Not very Super: With no knockout punch, the GOP brawl rolls on

2012-03-08 00:00:00

Tuesday's primaries and caucuses, billed as "Super Tuesday," left Republicans and everyone else with a little more clarity ...


Maureen Dowd / The warmongers get busy

2012-03-08 00:00:00

Sure, let's return to the Bush doctrine of bomb first, think later


Political sewer: Is the PWSA really serious about professionalism?

2012-03-08 00:00:00

The Pittsburgh Water and Sewer Authority is looking for a professional firm to manage the agency on an interim basis ...


I felt a jerk, and yes, it was a real jerk

2012-03-08 00:00:00

There's nothing like a long weekend to make a Tuesday morning every bit as grim as a Monday morning.


Texters beware: A law puts the brake on a fatal distraction

2012-03-08 00:00:00

For as much as social media can be useful, this is one editorial that we hope you won't text to someone who might be driving.


The case for Rush Limbaugh

2012-03-07 16:58:00

Our political umbrage episodes are orgies of insincerity


Kids can't wait for clean air

2012-03-07 06:59:00

Close to 38 percent of Northgate School District students suffered from asthma in 2008-09.


Defining democracy: Well, at least America is more democratic than Russia or Iran

2012-03-07 06:57:00

France, Iran, Mexico, Russia and the United States hold elections this year; each will say they are democratic.


Romney could learn from his rivals after Super Tuesday

2012-03-07 06:55:00

Some presidential candidates surge toward a nomination, some sneak up upon a nomination in the dead of night.


Pressure situation: Action on transportation is needed all around

2012-03-07 00:00:00

Gov. Tom Corbett is right to pressure the Port Authority for a cost-cutting contract to take effect July 1.


Stop beating the drum for war with Iran

2012-03-07 00:00:00

Out of the blue, an old buddy of mine this week sent me some photos of us as soldiers in Vietnam back when we were young and stupid.


Letters to the editor

2012-03-07 00:00:00

As a graduate student at the University of Pittsburgh, I have a significant issue with the new budget cuts proposed by Gov.


A city revived: Forbes.com gives Pittsburgh its latest accolade

2012-03-07 00:00:00

Forbes.com loves Pittsburgh. It might even be a love bordering on obsession, given the honors the website has bestowed recently.


Iran's fallout: Its democracy movement fails to have an impact

2012-03-07 00:00:00

Candidates backing Iran's supreme leader, Ayatollah Ali Khamenei, were the big election winners Friday in its 290-seat parliament,


Protect patient safety

2012-03-06 12:19:00

Legislators should be wary of changing a system that works


My shameful search history on Google

2012-03-06 12:12:00

Hey, I'm guessing yours isn't a whole lot better, Snooki fan


GOP in no rush to censure Limbaugh

2012-03-06 05:47:00

On Friday's "Real Time With Bill Maher," panelist James Carville cut through the latest culture war kerfuffle with a perfect sound bite:


Ross Douthat / We need to celebrate thinkers in a world of bomb throwers

2012-03-06 00:00:00

The story of the scholar and the stunt man


Flood of tears: The city must be proactive on stormwater

2012-03-06 00:00:00

No one thinks about sewers until they back up.


Rush's racket: Republicans are weak-kneed on Limbaugh

2012-03-06 00:00:00

Broadcaster Rush Limbaugh has the perfect little racket going.


Letters to the editor

2012-03-06 00:00:00

I agree with your Feb. 23 editorial "Selective Competition" about the hypocrisy of UPMC wanting a one-year contract with Highmark for


Rocky road: Putin is victorious, but opposition erupts

2012-03-06 00:00:00

Although Vladimir V. Putin was elected president Sunday by a wide margin, more than 63 percent of the vote, thousands of Russians


Rush's ruckus obscures real threat to liberty

2012-03-05 10:35:00

As necessary and welcome as Rush Limbaugh's apology to Sandra Fluke is, there's a bigger victim of his ill-chosen remarks still waiting


Good for Garfield: The community moves to put trouble behind

2012-03-05 00:01:00

Garfield and good news don't often go hand in hand.


Maureen Dowd / Have you no shame, Rush?

2012-03-05 00:01:00

As a woman who has been viciously slashed by Rush Limbaugh, I can tell you, it's no fun.


Letters to the editor

2012-03-05 00:00:00

Kudos to state Sen. Jake Corman ("GOP Leader Talks Against College Cuts").


Shared experience: The entire nation can learn from a new museum

2012-03-05 00:00:00

Last month ground was broken on the Smithsonian Institution's 19th museum.


Safe, not sorry: Keep charged guards away from state inmates

2012-03-05 00:00:00

We can't fault the state Department of Corrections for erring on the side of caution in suspending eight prison guards ...


E.J. Dionne Jr. / Obama wins Ohio

2012-03-05 00:00:00

What happens in Ohio politics never stays in Ohio, and there are two storylines here on the eve of Super Tuesday.


George F. Will / Constructive defeat

2012-03-05 00:00:00

"The beginning of wisdom is the fear of the Lord. The next and most urgent counsel is to take stock of reality." -- William F. Buckley


Maybe it's time to be steered to natural gas

2012-03-04 17:25:00

A few days before President Barack Obama spoke of a future with cars powered by natural gas, Lutitia Clipper drove one of those through the


The Next Page: The [French] horn rocks!

The Next Page: The [French] horn rocks!

2012-03-04 16:44:00

Heidi Opdyke offers a guided tour of the twists and turns of a musical world that is thriving in Pittsburgh.


Lights, cameras ... : Action at a new studio keeps Pittsburgh on film

2012-03-04 00:01:00

Pittsburgh is used to street closures and traffic jams due to movie shoots.


The affirmative action case is a Godsend for Republicans

2012-03-04 00:01:00

By unearthing the issue, the Supreme Court will force Obama to stake out a position unpopular with swing voters


Cutting Edge: New ideas / Sharp opinions

2012-03-04 00:01:00

Charles Kenny at ForeignPolicy.com: "After 30 years of greed being good and rising tides lifting all boats, inequality -- or 'class warfare,


Issue One

2012-03-04 00:01:00

Illogical jobs talk Much of the reaction to Rick Santorum's recent statements have focused on his distaste for President Kennedy's


The GOP race continues, and Republicans continue to grouse about their choices

2012-03-04 00:00:00

What they see is what they get


We used to see death as a part of life; now we see it as a medical failure

We used to see death as a part of life; now we see it as a medical failure

2012-03-04 00:00:00

Why is it so hard to let someone die? asks Dr. CRAIG BOWRON


Letters to the editor

2012-03-04 00:00:00

My thoughts on the proposed Port Authority transit fare hikes and route cuts: Pittsburgh has the potential to become a world-class


Far afield: The NYPD oversteps in its surveillance of Muslims

2012-03-04 00:00:00

The New York Police Department's surveillance and data compilation activities directed against Muslims in the United States show a


Asides

2012-03-04 00:00:00

IT WAS MR. BUMBLE in Charles Dickens' "Oliver Twist" who uttered the immortal line, "If the law supposes that, then the law is a ass, a


Enough Said / Federal tax laws keep piling up

2012-03-04 00:00:00

Facts that speak for themselves


Watch out for inflation

2012-03-04 00:00:00

Obama policies are likely to ignite more price increases


Abusing women: Let us count the ways

2012-03-04 00:00:00

They're high-tech, low-tech and worldwide, discovers columnist PAMELA DVORAK


Both parties prattle on about fundamental choices and never get around to practical solutions

2012-03-04 00:00:00

And they are betraying the American people, complains columnist CLIVE CROOK


After affirmative action

2012-03-04 00:00:00

Colleges will still diversify, writes professor STEPHEN JOEL TRACHTENBERG


Saturday Poem / 15 Years After 'The Cage'

2012-03-03 16:28:00

I dreamed I was working at The Cage again, / but the draft was kicked and the regulars / all parodies of themselves ...


Charles Krauthammer / Lucky for Romney that Santorum blew it big-time in Michigan

2012-03-03 00:00:00

WASHINGTON -- It's been a wild ride, but the storyline of the Republican race remains remarkably simple and constant: It's Mitt Romney and t


Paul Krugman / The GOP candidates would out-debt Obama

2012-03-03 00:00:00

They are four fiscal phonies


Saturday Diary / Playing ball at the Y like Jeremy Lin

Saturday Diary / Playing ball at the Y like Jeremy Lin

2012-03-03 00:00:00

I'm thinking Dragon Lin. Maybe that is too ethnic. How about Lion Lin? It's alliterative. Fast, agile, jumps well.


First Person / An Iceland story

2012-03-03 00:00:00

It's cold but cozy, and Icelanders address problems head-on


Letters to the editor

2012-03-03 00:00:00

I can't be the only woman astonished to see Rick Santorum awarded a national pulpit for his anti-contraception, "family values"


Dirty ball: A student's apology is the first step toward justice

2012-03-03 00:00:00

Woodland Hills High School basketball star Shakim Alonzo was a model student athlete.


Paws on the ground: A revived city program helps with animal control

2012-03-03 00:00:00

Population growth normally would be good news for the city of Pittsburgh, but that's not true when the expansion is taking place among


A tweet is worth a try, no matter how brief

2012-03-02 11:25:00

One of the first things I did when I came across news of conservative pundit Andrew Breitbart's death Thursday was scan the Internet.


End zone: Ward's departure is the price of a quality team

2012-03-02 00:01:00

Hines Ward has been such a mainstay in the Pittsburgh Steelers organization that an outsider asked whether Heinz Field was named after


Letters to the editor

2012-03-02 00:00:00

The members of the United Food and Commercial Workers who I represent have long supported efforts to modernize the Pennsylvania Liquor


Food for peace: Will North Korea follow through this time?

2012-03-02 00:00:00

North Korea's statement after talks with the United States that it is ready to deal on its nuclear weapons program offers plenty of


Immigrant bashing works

2012-03-02 00:00:00

So it's no wonder you see more of it during election years


Maureen Dowd / The GOP's greek tragedy

2012-03-02 00:00:00

Mitt gets weirder, Rick gets creepier, Republicans get worried-er


Forward on reverse: A federal rule on rearview cameras makes sense

2012-03-02 00:00:00

As the saying goes, sometimes a driver needs eyes in the back of his head, especially to avoid a tragedy such as running over an unseen


Oil prices rise, Act IV: It's always the same, as the actors tap into a barrel of nonsense

2012-03-02 00:00:00

There is nothing, and I mean nothing, like rising crude-oil prices to make sensible people go all wobbly in the head.


Retirement can be a long pleasure cruise

2012-03-01 17:19:00

You almost know Shirley Gernsback is a retired teacher before she tells you.


In Rebuttal / Global warming is real

2012-03-01 08:59:00

But some people are more than willing to distort the facts.


Letters to the editor

2012-03-01 00:01:00

In response to the "Bar This Tax" editorial (Feb. 27):


Campus diversity: This is not the time to weaken affirmative action

2012-03-01 00:00:00

Affirmative action in higher education is on the docket of the U.S. Supreme Court for the first time since 2003.


Komen is still for the cure

2012-03-01 00:00:00

Our organization made a mistake, but we go on fighting to rid this community of breast cancer


Picture imperfect: Housing Authority needs photos of the unwelcome

2012-03-01 00:00:00

If you get arrested, you're not welcome on Pittsburgh Housing Authority property.


Romney's night: Victories in 2 races bring him closer to the prize

2012-03-01 00:00:00

Tuesday night's victories by candidate Mitt Romney in primaries in Arizona and Michigan, coupled with the announcement by Maine Sen. Olympia


Taming the super PACs

2012-02-29 00:01:00

We've got to know where the big money comes from


Rats as role models: If rodents can display empathy, so can members of Congress

2012-02-29 00:01:00

Who knew that rats cared? They do. I read about it in the Post-Gazette -- "Research Shows Empathy in Rats."


Poor Haiti: Political ineptitude compounds its problems

2012-02-29 00:00:00

Haiti has done it again, compounding its already grave economic and social problems by creating a political tangle that cripples governance


Universities' ally: A powerful GOP senator opposes cuts to higher ed

2012-02-29 00:00:00

Pennsylvania's state-owned and state-related universities have attracted an influential ally in their opposition to Gov. Tom Corbett's propo


Letters to the editor

2012-02-29 00:00:00

We in Pittsburgh pride ourselves on living in a great city.


David Brooks / Possum Republicans

2012-02-29 00:00:00

They're the ones who hide as their party hunts for heretics


Trail of mistrust: A panel shines more light on disgraceful research

2012-02-29 00:00:00

The late John Cutler, a former U.S. Public Health Service doctor who later became a University of Pittsburgh professor, left a trail of pain


GOP primaries serve hard-to-digest nuts

2012-02-29 00:00:00

There is a rumor going around that the Republican Party is currently involved in primary elections for the purpose of successfully nominatin


Revenge of the 'super PACs'

Revenge of the 'super PACs'

2012-02-28 14:07:00

Republicans rejoiced when they started; now ... not so much


In Rebuttal: The case for cosmetic surgery

2012-02-27 12:40:00

Disturbing reports about the French manufacturer that sold faulty silicone breast implants in Europe and South America containing industrial


George F. Will / The ghosts of Watergate

2012-02-27 11:40:00

In 1960, when Thomas Mallon was in the fourth grade, he wore his Nixon-Lodge button to school and warned classmates that John Kennedy was to


Obama's reform: His corporate plan may give too much away

2012-02-27 00:01:00

President Barack Obama's new proposal for corporate tax reform has good bones.


Maureen Dowd / The last-gasp party

2012-02-27 00:00:00

It's finally sinking in.


Letters to the editor

2012-02-27 00:00:00

A strong, reliable public transportation system is vital to our strength and success as a region. Simply put, we can't be without it.


Bar this tax: South Siders shouldn't pay more for basic services

2012-02-27 00:00:00

Pittsburgh's South Side is getting noisier and rowdier than a typical Saturday night, and this time it's not drunken bar patrons generating


No exit for Pakistan: Afghanistan will still be stewing next door long after the Americans leave

No exit for Pakistan: Afghanistan will still be stewing next door long after the Americans leave

2012-02-26 16:38:00

Forum editor GREG VICTOR explains the situation from Pakistan's point of view


Eleven days in Pakistan: the rest of the story

Eleven days in Pakistan: the rest of the story

2012-02-26 16:36:00

The stakes are high for Pakistani journalists. They can cover almost everything but in many cases only if they face down threats.


E.J. Dionne Jr. / The president is not an alien

2012-02-26 12:51:00

They say President Barack Obama is a Muslim, but if he isn't, he's a secularist who is waging war on religion. On some days he's a Nazi, but


We need a funny president

We need a funny president

2012-02-26 12:50:00

As I was driving to work the other day, I heard a news reporter pose a question about the GOP presidential candidates I would have never tho


America is more integrated than you might think

2012-02-26 09:58:00

Social scientist EDWARD GLAESER tells an unsung success story


Asides

2012-02-26 00:01:00

SOME OF THE HAPPIEST words spoken in America are these: Pitchers and catchers report to spring training.


Cutting Edge: New ideas / Sharp opinions

2012-02-26 00:01:00

The Atlantic Wire mentioned an Amy Davidson blog item for The New Yorker on Barack Obama and religion:


Price is right, at least, for North Shore transit

2012-02-26 00:00:00

It's been almost 23 years, but I still can't forget Joe LoCurto's incredulous look when I told him, as we were heading down to Pittsburgh's


Enough Said / Billion Dollar Baby

2012-02-26 00:00:00

Facts that speak for themselves


PG Products